Harper backed neo-cons have an 80% failure rate

  Niagara Falls, Ontario,
Wednesday, December 10, 2008
by: Joe Hueglin

No change came about in the election of one-third of the Canadian Wheat Board of directors reported December 8th. Four of five Districts continue to be represented by directors supporting the (CWB)'s single desk system.

This result occurred despite actions by the Harper Government altering regulations to permit unlimited advertising by third parties (1) and disenfranchising thousands of pro-wheat board farmers and, as well, Conservative Members of Parliament sending out letters in support of candidates favouring their policy of dismantling the Canadian Wheat Board (CWB). (2)


"The CWB elections proves what farmers have been trying to tell an unlistening David Anderson and his harping government that farmers don't want a change in the CWB only an elite small group of co horts do. " was a comment made to one newspaper. (3)

The Harper government remains unlistening. The message delivered by its latest abject failure to sway those served by the Canadian Wheat Board has had no affect. Agricultural Minister Gerry Ritz says the neo-conservative Harper Conservatives "remain committed to marketing freedom."(4)


Joe Hueglin


1. Canadian Wheat Board, Changes to Regulations Respecting the Election of Directors of the CWB, September 4, 2008, Canadiuan Wheat Board web site

2. Kusch, Larry, Tory MPs' letters to CWB vote probed, November 28, 2008, Winnipeg Free Press

3. Billinger, Neil, CWB Director Election Results, December 7, 2008, Saskatoonhomepage

4. Pembina Valley Online, Ritz Remains committed to Barley Freedom, December 10, 2008, Pembina Valley Online


Retrun to Ensign


This page is a story posted on Ensign which is a daily web site offering a variety of material from scenic images, political commentary, information and news. This publication is the work of Faster Than Light Communications . If you would like to comment on this story or you wish to contact the editor of these sites please send us email.


Editor : Timothy W. Shire
Faster Than Light Communication
Box 1776, Tisdale, Saskatchewan, Canada, S0E 1T0
306 873 2004